You are browsing the archive for Community Sessions.

Community Session: Open Data Hong Kong

- May 7, 2014 in Community Sessions, Events, Interviews, OKF Hong Kong, Open Knowledge Foundation Local Groups

Open Data Hong Kong is an open, participative, and volunteer-run group of Hong Kong citizens who support Open Data. Join Mart van de Ven, Open Knowledge Ambassador for Hong Kong, and Bastien Douglas of ODHK for a discussion about their work. odhk - logo

How to Participate

This Community Session will be hosted via G+. We will record it.
  • Date: Wednesday, May 14, 2014
  • Time: Wednesday 21:00 – 22:00 EDT/ Thursday 09:00 – 10:00 HKT/01:00 – 02:00 UTC
  • See worldtimebuddy.com to convert times.
  • Duration: 1 hour
  • Register for the event here

About our Community Session Guests

Mart van de Ven Mart van de Ven co-founded Open Data Hong Kong to inspire and nurture a techno-social revolution in Hong Kong. He believes Open Data is a chance for citizens to be better served by government. Not only because it enables greater transparency and accountability, but because when governments open up their data it allows them to concentrate on their irreducible core – enabling us as citizens. He is also Open Knowledge’s ambassador to Hong Kong, a data-driven developer and technology educator for General Assembly.
Bastien Douglas
Bastien’s role with ODHK is to create a structure for the community to develop sustainability, form partnerships with other organisations and operationalize projects to achieve the goals of the organisation. Bastien’s background combines public sector experience, research analysis and citizen engagement. For over 4 years as a public servant in the federal government of Canada in Ottawa, he analysed policy at the front lines of policy development and researched public management issues at the centre of the bureaucracy. In 2009, a community of innovative public servants formed by Bastien to work across silos using collaborative tools and social media pushed projects for to forward Open Data to raise capacity to share knowledge and better support the public. Bastien then worked in the NGO sector building knowledge capacity for the immigrant-serving sector, while supporting advocacy for improved services, information-sharing, access to resources and sharing of practices for service delivery. Bastien Douglas on Twitter
More Details
See the full Community Session Schedule

Upcoming Community Sessions: CKAN, Community Feedback

- April 28, 2014 in ckan, Community Sessions, Events, network, Open Knowledge Foundation Local Groups, Our Work, Working Groups

Happy week! We are hosting two Community Sessions this week. You have expressed an interest in learning more about CKAN. As well, We are continuing our regular Community Feedback sessions. Boy and the world image
Take a CKAN Tour:
This week we will give an overview and tour of CKAN – the leading open source open data platform used by the national governments of the US, UK, Brazil, Canada, Australia, France, Germany, Austria and many more. This session will cover why data portals are useful, what they provide and showcase examples and best practices from CKAN’s varied user base! Bring your questions on how to get started and best practices. Guest: Irina Bolychevsky, Services Director (Open Knowledge) Questions are welcome via G+ or Twitter.
  • Date: Wednesday, April 30, 2014
  • Time: 7:30 PT /10:30 ET /14:30 UTC /15:30 BST/16:30 CEST
  • Duration: 1 hour
  • Register and Join via G+ (The Hangout will be recorded.)
Community Feedback Session
We promised to schedule another Community Feedback Session. It is hard to find a common time for folks. We will work on timeshifting these for next sessions. This is a chance to ask questions, give input and help shape Open Knowledge. Please join Laura, Naomi and I for the next Community Feedback Session. Bring your ideas and questions.
  • Date: Wednesday, April 30, 2014
  • Time:9:00 PT/12:00EDT/16:00 UTC /17:00 BST/18:00 CEST
  • Duration:1 hour
  • Join via Meeting Burner
We will use Meeting Burner and IRC. (Note: We will record both of these.) How to join meeting Burner: Audio instructions Option 1 Dial-in to the following conference line: Number 1- (949) 229 – 4400 # Option 2 You may join the conference bridge with your computer’s microphone/speakers or headset How to join IRC: http://wiki.okfn.org/How_to_use_IRC/_Clients_and_Tips More about the new Open Knowledge Brand
Host a Community Session in May
We are booking Community Sessions for May. These Open Knowledge online events can be in a number of forms: a scheduled IRC chat, a community google hangout, a technical sprint or an editathon. The goal is to connect the community to learn and share their stories and skills. If you would like to suggest a session or host one, please contact heather dot leson at okfn dot org. More details about Community Sessions (Photo: Heather Leson (San Francisco))